Leslie Amine creates original compositions with ink and acrylic. She questions different topics such as miscegenation, the mix of cultures and identity. During her various travels, she captures moments, people who move her. Then, plenty of elements eventually meet on her colorful canvases: luxury vegetations, living cities, atypical characters… The most striking in her art is without any doubt the way she works on transparency: it creates a world split between dreams and reality.

 

“Her artworks are stories without any narrative. The place is uncertain, the action unknown, the dialogues are mute. Painting is an art of silence. A kind of enigma come from her compositions and the observer is tempted to act as if he was a detective in those mysterious universes. Still, echos of impressions, which were born outside the canvas, remain in her works.

This magic which happens outside the canvas built herself from the numerous experiences and memories of Leslie Amine. Memories of countries, of travels, of instants, of images, of paintings, the things she saw, she felt, she has been through, and she chose. It’s a flow of colors and shapes, a fluent circulation where you can see, between reality and virtuality, the fragmented mobility of our current world through the vision of an artist, Leslie Amine”

Marc DESGRANDCHAMPS, Douceur électrique, 2017

D’origine franco-béninoise, Leslie Amine crée des compositions originales à l’encre et à l’acrylique au cœur desquelles elle évoque les questions du métissage, d’hybridité et d’identité. Elle capture des moments de vie, des personnages qui l’interpellent au gré de ses voyages. Se mêlent alors sur ses toiles colorées une végétation luxuriante, une ville en mouvement, des individus atypiques… Le plus saisissant dans son travail est assurément son jeu sur les transparences qui crée un monde entre rêve et réalités, où toutes les sensations ont leur place.

 

« Ces tableaux sont des récits sans récit. Le lieu est incertain, l’action inconnue, les dialogues muets. La peinture est l’art du silence. Une sorte d’énigme se dégage des compositions et le regardeur est tenté d’agir en détective de ces univers secrets. Pourtant des échos d’impressions dont la source demeure hors du cadre se donnent à voir en ces œuvres.

Cet hors cadre sont les multiples expériences et mémoires de Leslie Amine, lesquelles viennent se recomposer sur la toile. Mémoires de pays, de voyages, d’instants, d’images, de peintures, un ensemble de choses vues, ressenties, traversées et choisies. Il s’agit d’un flux de couleurs et de formes, d’une circulation fluide où se voit entre réalité et virtualité la mobilité morcelée du monde d’aujourd’hui au travers d’une vision, celle d’un artiste, Leslie Amine. »

 

Marc DESGRANDCHAMPS, Douceur électrique, 2017